US3S Dodge Stealth and Mitsubishi 3000GT Forum


| Official Members List | Join US3S | News & Information| Sponsor List | US3S Stuff | 3S of the Month |

 

Go Back   US3S Dodge Stealth and Mitsubishi 3000GT Forum > Car Talk > Stealth and 3000GT General Info

Stealth and 3000GT General Info General Questions and Comments regarding the Stealth and 3000GT. Newbie questions welcome.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old - June 30th, 2012, 04:50 PM
Stealth0ps Stealth0ps is offline
Uber Noober
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 5
BISS screw adjustment Question

I've had a 1991 Dodge stealth R/T 5-speed since 2006 and I just had the ECU rebuilt and replaced the IAC. My high idle problem that has plagued me since I bought the car is now fixed. However, I just want to make sure I have the BISS screw in the right position. Since I've had the car I have messed with that screw trying to set my idle. I've heard that you have to ground out a wire while turning it to actually increase or decrease your idle, which I've never done, and if you turn it without grounding it, it will just lean out or richen the A/F ration. I'm wondering if there is a stock position that I need to return that screw to. I'm afraid I may be running to lean and hurt the motor or run to rich and lose some HP. I'm also wondering if the ECU will just over-ride the BISS screw and set the A/F mixture to the factory defaults.
Thanks


Stock Motor-
3SX long headers-
Maximal Performance Single Shot exhaust and race pipe-

Last edited by Stealth0ps; - June 30th, 2012 at 04:50 PM. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old - June 30th, 2012, 08:33 PM
Stealth0ps Stealth0ps is offline
Uber Noober
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 5
Re: BISS screw adjustment Question

Took the car into town this afternoon and it started stuttering above 4500 rpm and the exhaust cackled like crazy with NO power whatsoever. Fuel Pressure gauge sat at 40 psi at idle and 55 under heavy acceleration when this was happening. It didn't drop at all. So 3 days into having a new ecu I have a new problem. I've rebuilt the ECU and replaced plugs, wires, coil packs and IAC. The MAF was replaced a couple years ago... Car is turning into a money pit

ANY help is appreciated...
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old - June 30th, 2012, 10:09 PM
checkered vr4's Avatar
checkered vr4 checkered vr4 is offline
slipnsidways
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bartonville IL
Posts: 800
Re: BISS screw adjustment Question

Sounds like it could be the Ignition control module, it's the black thing under the coils with two wire harness connectors.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old - July 1st, 2012, 03:08 AM
Stealth0ps Stealth0ps is offline
Uber Noober
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 5
Re: BISS screw adjustment Question

Is there any way to test this part? $197 sound bout right? also, thanks for the reply.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old - July 1st, 2012, 05:43 AM
checkered vr4's Avatar
checkered vr4 checkered vr4 is offline
slipnsidways
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bartonville IL
Posts: 800
Re: BISS screw adjustment Question

Pm me your address and I'll send you a used but nice one for $50.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old - July 1st, 2012, 10:37 AM
Stealth0ps Stealth0ps is offline
Uber Noober
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 5
Re: BISS screw adjustment Question

I don't know why, but when I try to send a PM it says I don't have sufficient Privileges.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old - July 4th, 2012, 11:04 PM
vr4gto's Avatar
vr4gto vr4gto is offline
US3S Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Duluth,MN
Posts: 4,501
Re: BISS screw adjustment Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth0ps View Post
I don't know why, but when I try to send a PM it says I don't have sufficient Privileges.
Take the module into an Oreilly's, they can test them.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old - July 8th, 2012, 09:46 PM
Stealth0ps Stealth0ps is offline
Uber Noober
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 5
Re: BISS screw adjustment Question

So over the weekend I think I may have found out what the problem is. I have no dome light, door lights, interior lights or constant power to my radio to save settings and there is no fuse in the bottom of the interior fuse box.. I'm GUESSING but is there a constant power to the ECU to keep settings also? If so, I think every time I shut off my car it's the same as taking the ground terminal of the battery and my ECU resets. When I start it up again the ECU has to relearn everything and that's why my car is either running too lean or too rich and flat lining. After about 15-20 miles of driving it runs completely fine. I put a fuse in and the dome lights work for about 10-15 seconds then the fuse blows. Is this a known problem? Whats the best way to find out whats drawing the extra current? And does anyone know what all runs on that fuse?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Stealth0ps; - July 8th, 2012 at 09:48 PM. Reason: Added info!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Copyright United Society of 3000GT and Stealth Owners where applicable. The Dodge Ram logo, Dodge, Stealth and R/T are trademarks of the Chrysler Corporation. The Three Diamond logo, 3000GT, VR-4, VR4, and (GTO in Japan) are trademarks of Mitsubishi Corporation. GTO is a trademark of Pontiac which is part of the General Motors Corporation. 3Si may be a trademark of 3000GT / Stealth International. Use of these logos and trademarks does not indicate approval of content or affiliation with these companies by US3S. US3S content is copyright US3S where it is not already copyrighted by someone else. US3S is not responsible for incorrect or inaccurate information.Ad Management plugin by RedTyger